Sisterhood

Dear Sister,

I am surprised that I have not written a blog about this topic yet. That topic is…..Sisterhood!

My breast cancer memoir is titled: Dear Sister, My Bathroom Mirror Saved My Life. I chose this title because of several reasons. The first one being that I do not have any biological sisters. I have one brother and he is thirteen months older than I am.

I did not have any close friends that were girls until I was in Junior High School. Seven years later, one of those close friends went on to introduce me to the greatest sisterhood that I have ever known. That sisterhood is the Relief Society of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. They are the largest support group in the world for women.

The history of the Relief Society is filled with examples of ordinary women who have accomplished extraordinary things. The primary purpose of the Relief Society is to help prepare women for the blessings of eternal life by helping them to increase their faith, strengthen their families and homes and by seeking out and helping people who may be in need of help-physically and spiritually.

The motto of the Relief Society is: Charity Never Faileth. Our Savior, Jesus Christ set the perfect example of this motto for us to follow.

During the last thirty two years my dear sisters in the Relief Society have certainly lived up to that motto. They have strengthened my faith. They have helped my family when no one else would. They provided meals for us when I was recovering from surgery. They have taken me to doctor’s appointments. They have lifted my spirit through their kind words and short notes that they have sent me. I have received a few very timely phone calls on days when I thought nobody cared.

I know that I have a long way to go before I will be able to reach the level of charity that some of these dear sisters and our Savior have shared with me. It is so easy to be selfish. I am very thankful for my dear sisters and for my Savior and the example He and they have given me to follow.

Leave a Reply

