A Great Recipe for Success

Pineapple Blueberry Cake
Pineapple Blueberry Cake

Dear Sister

I was watching the local news this morning. They always have a Recipe Box segment and inevitably. those who are watching are salivating before the segment is over. We can’t wait to try the recipe ourselves and impress our families and perhaps our friends with our latest creation.

When I was in school, I loved science. I thought I would become a nurse when I grew up. That did not happen. What DID happen was that I learned how to experiment in the kitchen thanks to an amazing Home Economics teacher named: Mrs Thompson. She taught her students to follow a recipe exactly the first time we made it. As we became comfortable with it, she encouraged us to make the recipe ‘our own’ by substituting ingredients that we have on hand instead of making a special trip to the grocery-store every time we wanted to make it. Her lesson has stayed with me all of my life.

I am sitting here thinking about how we can apply this wise council in our daily lives. What would a really great recipe look like for success either in our personal or professional lives? I read a blog a little while ago that offers some really great suggestions. Feel free to check it out here: https://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/

I love a few of Kristen Lamb’s quotes: Rejection isn’t no, it’s not yet. As a Telemarketer, I can relate! Rejection is seldom personal. When we respond with kindness towards those individuals, we feel better and most of the time, they apologize and explain their position-if we are willing to listen.

Another quote from Kristen that I liked is: When we dare to push ourselves outside of our what we believe is possible, we discover talents we never knew existed. Most people fear Public Speaking. I discovered last year that I really enjoy it and most importantly that I have a natural talent for it! Toastmasters has proven to be a safe place for me to learn my craft and improve my confidence and competence. It is fun and I look forward to attending my meetings every week. The hardest part happens before I speak. Calming my nerves and quieting my doubts has taken quite a bit of energy, but the results have been worth it!

What does a great recipe look like for you in your personal or professional relationships? Are you willing to accept a no or a not yet? Are you willing to try something new and get out of your comfort zone? You could discover a really great recipe for improving your future success!

Enjoy your day!

Chris

P.S. This blog would not be complete if I did not share with you a really great recipe for my new favorite dessert! We were having Missionaries from our church over for dinner a couple of months ago. I like to ‘experiment on them’ with something new and voila-This recipe was born! It started out as a Blueberry Streusel cake. I didn’t have enough blueberries, so I substituted crushed pineapple. It worked!

Try it and impress your friends and family members! The picture is at the top of this page. Here is the recipe.

Here it is! Pineapple, Blueberry Cake Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup ground oats

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1/3 cup softened butter

1 teaspoon imitation vanilla extract

1 cup sweetened vanilla almond milk

1 egg 1 cup fresh blueberries

10 ounces drained, crushed pineapple

Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

1/3 cup softened butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon unsweetened lemon juice

2 tablespoons sweetened vanilla almond milk or more depending on how thick or thin you want the glaze.

Pre-heat to 350 degrees. Use butter or coconut oil to grease 9×9 inch pan. Mix together on low-speed for 30 seconds: Flour, ground oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, butter, almond milk and egg, then mix on medium speed for 2 minutes. Pour half of batter into prepared pan; spread the crushed pineapple evenly over batter; pour remaining batter over crushed pineapple and top with blueberries. Bake for 35-40 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let it cool for an hour. Make the glaze and drizzle over the top. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

