Feel Good Friday: Top 10 List of Things To Take Time For

Good afternoon dear sisters,

I was inspired this week by a case of the flu. How can having the flu inspire you? It forces you to slow down and sometimes stop and reflect on the important things.

I have a new Toastmasters mentor and friend. Her name is Monica and she extended an invitation to me on VERY SHORT notice about an event that would be taking place in her local Toastmasters group. I almost declined because I was already a day behind on my day-job deadlines for this week. I was also in the process of improving this website which set me even further behind. (All I will say on that matter is: GLITCHES! They can cost you quite a bit of time especially if you and the program you are using do NOT have the same communication skills! The program ALWAYS WINS and it is up to you to figure it out!)

I am pretty good at justifying my decisions depending on my mood and this time was no exception. I knew that what I would gain by attending this event would be far more than what I would lose on an emotional and financial level. My husband and I agreed that we would quite literally “kill two birds with one stone” by attending the event at Monica’s Toastmasters club. I needed my Toastmasters fix because I was not able to attend my own groups meeting this week due to illness.

Taking things has a negative connotation. Most of us have taken people things for granted. Some of us make have taken something that did not belong to us or know someone who has. Some of us take vitamins every day or prescription drugs. Some of us have taken five minutes to cool down when we are angry or told our children to do that. Taking five minutes of doing something that could be life-changing, especially on a stressful day could improve our day.

Now for my Top 10 List of the Things to Take Time For (or more importantly make the time for!) 

10. Take time to slow down! I heard this criticism repeatedly when I joined Toastmasters last year. I knew that I could communicate effectively on the phone. I usually mirror the person that I am talking to. By that I mean that if they are talking slow, I talk slower. If they are talking faster, I don’t have to slow down in order to share my message. I saw the following vehicle on the grocery-store parking lot yesterday. It was the perfect reminder for me.

100_2993

(Just in case you are having trouble reading it, it says: Slow your ass down! My husband’s a construction worker!)

9.Take time to take pictures of the beautiful fall leaves. My husband and I are planning our annual trip to the park this Saturday to hike and take pictures. However, I took the time yesterday to take a few pictures while I was out running errands. I was at the library and noticed the scenery as I was getting in my car. I deliberately left my home a half hour early so I wouldn’t have to rush. Why wait a few days when I could enjoy the beauty now?

100_2989    100_2991

8. Take time to savor a treat. I have a guilty-pleasure. Don’t we all??? The BEST Donut Shop in the city of Cleveland, Ohio can be found in Strongsville, Ohio. It is called: Spud Nuts. Every now and then, I get a craving for their chocolate, vanilla-cream filled donut. Most of the time, I scarf it down. I didn’t do that yesterday. I spent my $1 and sat in my car and took ten minutes to eat it. I was in heaven! I enjoyed EVERY DELICIOUS BITE! Sorry, no pictures! It’s gone!

7. Take joy in the mundane. Grocery-shopping. All of us do it. I shop once/week. Yesterday, I slowed down to look for a bottle of Ranch salad dressing for my husband. One of his co-workers shared some of her salad with him earlier in the week and some Ranch dressing. It is called: Kraft Classic Ranch. It did NOT include the ingredients that cause me to get migraines. She also told my husband that it wasn’t very expensive. I slowed down yesterday to look for it. When I found it, I read the ingredient list. It was a nice treat to go on our salad last night and a nice change from the Thousand Island dressing that we use most of the time. The cost: $2.

6. Take the time to make a new friend. Thanks to Monica’s invitation, I was able to spend a few minutes chatting with a few people that came to the Toastmasters event last night. One of them was from the Advanced Toastmasters club. She invited me to come to an event in their club in early November. I spent five minutes listening to her share her enthusiasm about the event and why I should come. For the record, it’s on my calendar!

5. Take five minutes to tell your boss what they are doing right. Too often, our bosses become the complaint department. Let them know that you appreciate them. This does not just apply to bosses, but everybody that is important in our lives. They need to hear from us when things are going good too!

4. Take five minutes to call a friend and let them talk about what is going on their lives. Take the time to really listen to them without any intention of sharing your own concerns or problems. It could very well make their day a better one and you will feel better too!

3. Take five minutes to write a thank you card to someone that you admire or love. Don’t mail it on their birthday or other holiday, Mail it just because you love them. If it’s a homemade card, that would make it even more special.

2. Take a few minutes to hold a baby for someone at the next part or family get-together. Now that the holiday season is upon us, we should get a few opportunities to do this Most people will let you do this and will truly appreciate having their hand’s free and being able to socialize as well.

1. Take a few minutes to tell a joke or make someone smile today. It is one of the things that I have truly enjoyed about my day job. I talk to a lot of people on the phone every day and I get lot’s of opportunities to do this. I have said this before and I will say it again: Laughter IS the best medicine!

All of the items on my Top 10 list today only take a few minutes, but I promise you that they will be life-changing for you and the people you love if you don’t take them for granted.

Remember my favorite scripture from the Book of Mormon, Alma 37:6…by small and simple means are great things brought to pass and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.

Last, but not least dear sisters, take the time to live every day as if it were your last and someday you will be right.

Enjoy your weekend!

Chris

Leave a Reply

