Family and Forgiveness

Dear Sister,

It might surprise you to find out that Christmas is NOT my favorite holiday! I am not a huge fan of the commercialization of the reason that we celebrate the season. I do not like large family gatherings. Some family relationships are difficult to say the least.

This time of the year, I suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder, also known as: Seasonal Depression. Some people don’t understand it and to be honest, I’m not sure that I do either. Panic-attacks are common-especially when I am in a large group. I prefer one-on-one interactions or smaller groups of less than ten people.

I recently had an encounter with an extended family member who is struggling with some personal and family issues of her own. I should not have been offended by her and should have been more careful about my own language as well-considering her circumstances…We haven’t had the type of relationship where we can share, shall we say, less than amicable feelings.

Most of my closest friends are the people that have seen me at my worst and still love me. We can laugh together, cry together and be blatantly honest and share irreverent humor when we need to and not be offended or worry about offending each other.

I wrote the following poem in less than ten minutes. It is my way of venting and hopefully creating a more understanding relationship with the people that ‘I might have offended.’

If it helps you or someone you love, please share it and let me know how things work out. If they don’t work out, please don’t blame me!

Enjoy your day!

Chris

10 Minute Poem

I’m not you, and you’re not me,
There are some things on which we will never agree.

Our life experiences have not been the same,
To say that we understand those things is actually quite lame.
Neither one of us has the right to judge or blame.

Anger is nothing more than hurt feelings being expressed.
So please don’t call someone selfish when they are
clinically depressed.

You may never know the good things that they do for people other than…you!

Gratitude is a wonderful attitude!
Both of us will receive more of the things that we express it for!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

