What are you hiding?

Dear Sister,

As many of you may know, I am a member of three sisterhoods: The sisterhood of the human race, the pink sisterhood (breast cancer survivor) and a sister in the world’s largest organization for women: The Relief Society of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The first Sunday of most months in our church is designated as a day for fasting (not eating or drinking anything for twenty-four hours, or not eating two meals.) We also pour out our hearts in prayer. After all, fasting without prayer is called starvation.

It is one way that we can help our spirits gain control over our bodily appetites and help us to feel closer to our Father in heaven. It allows us the opportunity, if we choose to feel of His spirit a little bit stronger in in our lives.

Most people who do this with a sincere heart and real intent receive answers to their prayers. Sometimes they receive personal revelation that they were not expecting. That is what happened to me last week.

I had been suffering from a pinched nerve in my left shoulder for two weeks. The pain was not going away. While I never asked the Lord why I received breast cancer, I did ask him why I was suffering so much with a pinched nerve.

He answered my question when I was in the shower: He said: STOP HIDING!

I spent twenty-four years hiding my 38DD’s behind the  colors of black, brown and dark blue. I was fitted with fake boobs-also known as: Foobs three months after my diagnosis. I wanted to look and feel normal-mostly in public.

I have not been able to wear my foobs because of my pinched nerve. That one extra pound has been too heavy for my shoulder to bear.

One of the reason’s that I wrote my breast cancer memoir was to help women understand that their iden-titty should NOT be determined by their bra size or body parts. 

I am no longer hiding! I found this beautiful sweater at the Volunteer’s of America store today for $1! I am not wearing any make-up. I AM wearing my silver-studded ear rings.

100_3321

What are you hiding???

Enjoy your weekend!

Chris 

 

Leave a Reply

