Untangling the Power of One!

Dear Sister,

Today’s Feel Good Friday blog post will help you untangle the mysteries of how the number one can be powerful.

Have you ever read ONE book that has changed your life? If so, I will bet that most people will say that that ONE book is the Bible. Most people believe that the primary focus of the Bible is about ONE man who changed the world-the Son of God: Jesus Christ. He set the perfect example for us to follow. He came to this earth to do the will of His Father and succeeded because of His perfect love for all of us…His brothers and sisters. His life was a life of selflessness and perfect love.

One person can make a difference. Jesus Christ was the only perfect man to live-in part because of who His Father is. He DID have a choice: To do the will of His Father or to give in to the will of the flesh-which He inherited from His mortal Mother. 

ALL of us have a choice too! We can choose to act out of love and make our decisions on what we believe Jesus would do. 

With this in mind, I would like to share with you a book that I read that encompasses the values that Jesus gave us to follow. I finished reading a book titled: 29 Gifts-How a month of giving can change your life, by Cami Walker. At the end of the book, she offers a challenge to her readers: Give a gift a day for 29 days. You must give the gift consciously and unconditionally. You should not give with the expectation of receiving anything in return. It doesn’t have to be a monetary gift or anything huge. In fact, the best gifts are the one’s that cost close to nothing. For more information, check out her website at: http://www.29gifts.org/

I have not decided to join…yet! Mainly because I have been so inspired by the stories that Cami shared in her book, that my motives are not pure. The giver’s lives have been blessed in numerous and miraculous ways. I want the same blessings and that IS selfishness on my part. 

I would like to share a few things that you can do to  be powerful!

One smile can soften a heart. I know this to be true. It happened to me recently. I attended an event where I knew that ONE person would be that had offended me and I had made up my mind that I would ignore that person if I saw them. As it turned out, that person saw me before I saw them. That person smiled at me. I smiled back and we proceeded to have a somewhat strained, but amicable conversation before the event was over. It was ONE step in the right direction.

One hug can say more than words can. This IS especially true at funeral’s or when someone receives bad news. If you don’t know what to say, a hug will go a long way! The best gift that a few of my dear sisters from church gave me after my breast cancer diagnosis was a hug. I appreciated it the most from the sisters that did not know me very well. 

One kind word can make a big difference. That one word is…Thanks! How many of us pause to give thanks to people who help us along the way or acknowledge a gift or give a sincere compliment? We truly will get more of what we give thanks for! 

In honor of Valentine’s day, might I be so bold as to make a suggestion or two? If you are single, stop looking for the right person and start working on developing the qualities of the person that you would like to attract. Start by doing ONE kind thing for one person each day. If you are married and are not very happy, do ONE thing that will show your significant other how much you truly appreciate them. I guarantee that you will see a difference in your relationship. (Hint: You might have to do this on a regular basis before you see a significant improvement.)

Enjoy your weekend and Happy Valentine’s Day!

Chris

Valentines Tangled Art

 

Leave a Reply

